Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-01-28 4:08 a.m.

welcome to my shithole, don't mind the mess

Why am I still awake?

Maybe it's because I didn't wake up yesterday until nearly 4 pm.

Why am I choosing to toss another piece of shit into this hole of mine, deep in a rarely visited hidden valley of the web, instead of going to bed?

Maybe I'm hoping it will act as fertilizer and a nice tree will grow out of it. If I ever get around to planting one.

This article really depressed me. Enough to cause insomnia. Enough to make me wonder why I'm even studying science, if this is where it's all going to lead. Enough to make me wonder if having children is really a good idea. Mr. Wright's analysis seems to be a straw-man fallacy- he creates a weakened version of Bill Joy's statements and proceeds to beat that up. Mr. Wright does have his own vision of the future, however.

Ugh. Do we really know what we're doing? Is our species really mature enough for the toys we're going to be playing with before long?

Big changes are coming. You ready?

In other news, we went up to Park City to catch a film on the last day of the Sundance Film Festival yesterday. We saw the "Dramatic Audience Award" winner, called The Station Agent. I was worried it would be a tired it-sucks-to-be-a-dwarf piece, but it was actually quite charming. See it if you get a chance. 3 stars

I also watched a movie called Green Dragon this weekend. The guy Junko was interested in before me is friends with the director and has a 1 second cameo during the opening credits. She rewound and watched his "scene" three times. Anyway, I thought the movie was great. I've never seen the Vietnam War through Vietnamese eyes like that before. And I love Forest Whitaker. (Maybe instead of going to bed after this, I'll watch Ghost Dog on my computer.) Great. 3 stars. Could mature into 4.

like a monkey grabbing at the reflection of the moon,

greyarea

Diaryland