Previous Current Older Next Contact

2002-02-26 11:43 p.m.

what squinky eye!?!

I didn't have school last week, so I went to Las Vegas and rarely left the house. I watched a lot of TV, played some guitar... It was nice. It was like nap time in the middle of the semester- I felt like I was asleep or dreaming the whole week- but yesterday was like awakening to a bucket of cold water dumped on my head. Not too fun.

Sometimes I hate school completely- especially my major. But I have to remind myself at these times that I've been going to school year round for almost three years now, so that's bound to affect me. Plus, sometimes I absolutely love it. Those times are what keep me going, I guess...

It's official- I will be working at a wedding hall in Japan this summer. I might even get to help people plan their weddings. There's even a chance I could end up performing weddings. Wouldn't that be awesome? Anyway, I think it will be a refreshing change of pace. I don't know what kind of internet access I'll have over there, but assuming I can get into diaryland, you'll be the first to know.

So... that new Garbage album sounds like it was written by a totally different person than whoever wrote the other two albums... Someone who cites their influences as "Garbage and anything that's been on TRL since the last Garbage album." There's some slight poke-throughs of old style, and that Shut Your Mouth song almost sounds like the good stuff, but... She did say that when she grew up she'd be stable... I guess she's left the rest of us to weep her lost childhood. I think my favorite song is Drive You Home, though it sure sounds like something else I can't quite put my finger on. I also like the Cherry Lips song- it's cute. I might actually like the album (I haven't decided yet), but it can't compare to old school. Man, a lot of those songs it's like, "Shirley, what the hell were you thinking? I can't believe you wrote a song like this!" I guess that's what a lot of people think...

I'm thinking of letting Junko borrow it- to kind of ease her into the shallow end of Garbage before deciding whether she'll ever be ready to go off the diving board.

i feel so symbolic,

greyarea

Diaryland