Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-02-29 22:38:40

faisant du slackicisme

Apparently basil leaves aren't really recycable. Darn.

So, I actually wrote that paper. That French one. The title is "L'Image de la fille dans l'oeuvre de Victor Hugo avant et apr�s 1843." Which is, interpreted, "The Image of the Girl [or "the Daughter"] in the Works of Victor Hugo Before and After 1843." Sounds pretty academic, huh? Just judging from the title alone, not knowing anything else about it, what size stick would you guess is up the author's butt? ha. Just judging from that title, (and from the paper itself, even) you might think I'd actually read something by Victor Hugo. You'd be wrong. And of course I didn't even start it until 8pm the night before it was due. In fact, looking back over the years of research papers, the earliest being from 7th grade, I believe, I don't think I've ever started writing a paper before the night before it was due (or in the case of an exceptionally long research paper, the weekend before the Monday it was due). I'm reminded of a Calvin and Hobbes conversation:

H:"So, are you going to start on that paper that's due tomorrow?"

C:"Not yet. I have to be in the right state of mind to write a quality paper."

H:"And what state of mind would that be?"

C:"Last minute panic."

So yeah, I got it turned in on time, got home. I went to bed at 9:30 pm last night. Got up today at 2:30 in the afternoon. Yes, that's right, I slept for 17 hours straight. Which doesn't break my record, by the way. And I can now say I've missed all of my classes at least once. A noteworthy day, to be sure. Heading towards 50% attendance in French. sigh...

The other thing I did today? Spent 5 hours on a physics test. Though really, I had no perception of the passage of time throughout. I think I did pretty good on it. Even if I did take two hours longer on it than it's supposed to take...

I dreamt last night (actually, it was probably this afternoon) that I was on a rollercoaster that jumped the tracks and plunged off a cliff, and I was the only one who survived. I'd love to hear an interpretation of that.

You know what, I'm really in the mood right now to start and finish a book, then write a two page commentary on it. Yeah, that would really hit the spot right now. Oh, boy! I can't wait!

(For those of you who are incapable of detecting sarcasm (and I've met a few of you), that there was sarcasm.)

wonder what my body would sound like
slamming against those rocks
and when i hit
will my eyes
be closed or open?

i am one as you are three,

grey

Diaryland