Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-03-09 6:55 a.m.

gaiman and war

I met Neil Gaiman yesterday. Aren't you jealous? I was about the 400th person in line, and I think we were both feeling pretty crap by the time I got up there. But he was extremely gracious, and I felt it was worth the time I spent. I'd like to think I contributed to making him feel it was worth his while to have wasted these four hours of his life and to have risked missing his plane for us, too.

I sure wish we weren't going to war with Iraq.

How is Iraq supposed to respond when we say, "Do what we say, or we'll kill you. ... Actually, we're going to kill you anyway." ?

"Open the door, and we'll burn down your house."

"Don't you mean OR? OR we'll burn down your house?"

"Whatever."

And check this out.

WHY ARE WE DOING THIS? I think forcing the inspectors on Iraq is a good thing, but there is no cause for war right now! Why right now, why us?

But no one who matters is asking me, obviously.

It seems like there's nothing to be done. Bush and his cronies are going to do this, despite what anyone in the US or elsewhere thinks. I have to laugh at plans to bombard the White House with emails or whatever. I guarantee it will not make a difference.

"Every little bit helps, as the old woman said when she pissed into the sea."

Anyway, statistically speaking folks, a politician would be a fool to judge the attitude of his constituents by the letters he receives. Letters, emails, and telephone calls constitute what is called a "voluntary response sample." The spectrum of opinions presented in voluntary response samples almost never represent the opinions of the actual population. Because people who take the time to respond when they don't have to are much more likely to have strong, negative opinions on the topic in question than those who aren't energized enough about the topic to make their opinions known.

I'm already planning responses for when I go to France. "J'ai vot� pour l'autre!"

all this breathing in and never breathing out,

greyarea

Diaryland