Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-03-18 6thirty

i accuse myself

do something about your long filthy hair
it looks like rat's nest
do something about your mullet
get out the hair clippers, jerk

cut the mullet

get the rat's nest off your head
get that crazy ass mullet off your skull
take your ass to the barber shop
tell the barber that you're sick of looking like an asshole

cut the mullet

the mullet is the reason why people hate you
they are sick of looking at your nappy wheat sack
nobody wants to look at you with that mullet on your head
why don't you cut that mullet you numbskull

cut the mullet

Wise words.

So, here I am again.

General thoughts on other diaries: Lists of what you did today or this weekend or whatever are boring. I'm not interested unless I know you personally. I'm looking for wit and/or perceptiveness with good writing as part of the deal. I'm less interested in what happened than I am in what you think about it. And speaking of writing... It seems there's a lot of people around here in hopes of becoming writers. I'm not going to say that I'm a good writer, but I can tell the difference between good writing and bad. The main problem I see in the work of the local apsiring authors is that they confuse dense writing with good writing. Put the right words in the right places and don't jump overboard trying to fill sentences with cool sounding words. If your writing isn't clear, it's probably not good. Anyway... I don't have any specific diaries in mind here, and actually I'm probably accusing myself along with everyone else. So nevermind.

Honestly, I find most diaries pretty boring.

So, the Columbian left. My new roommate is in the Air Force ROTC. He has a sign above his bed that says "Fitness Fanatic Parking- All Others Will Be Towed." He's got Abs of Steel, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, and How To Win Friends and Influence People in his closet (which also happens to be my closet). As Dave puts it, "He's a nice guy, but he's not one of us." We've nicknamed him Skip, though I don't know if he knows that. Are we being a bit elitist? Maybe... But I'm sure we'll be drowning in waves of Skip's disdain before too long (if we aren't already)... I don't dislike the guy. I really don't have any problems at all with him, so far. But I wouldn't pick him as a roommate...

"You guys think you're underappreciated scholars, so you make fun of people who know less than you. Which is everyone."

You know that song, "Across the Sea" by Weezer? I never really liked it until yesterday.

Supposedly Chuck's coming back from China soon. Let the fun recommence...

I should stop being such a dick. But I probably won't.

-greyarea

Diaryland