Previous Current Older Next Contact

2009-04-14 9:30 p.m.

glaze

I'm moving the PS from the last entry here. It doesn't fit well with that entry.

P.S. This blog is nine years old now. Go read old entries to celebrate. No, really. Dooo iiiit.

Oh, and I met Richard Garriott. It was cool.

P.S. Over. Continuing On.

I love PhD comics.

A few weeks ago I had a whole entry planned out. But now I can't remember what I wanted to say.

So, they're saying that worst-case global warming scenarios are starting to happen. There's reason to think that the high oil prices from a while back were the actual cause of the financial crisis, or at least the dumbbell that broke the camel's back. And I would imagine that those high prices will be waiting for us once economic "recovery" gets going.

It's funny- the more I learn about these issues the less it seems like there are many good options available for dealing with it. It also often seems like those who are most knowledgeable about it are among the most pessimistic. I just don't see how what needs to be done is ever going to get done in time to make a difference given the current attitudes and expectations in the world.

So what are we to do?

Ask rhetorical questions and just go on with life?

Anyway... things seem to be going my way lately, in general. I need to wait to see how a few other things pan out before I say that with authority, but� I am cautiously optimistic. About my short term future.

So, robots are doing science now, and they say they're going to beat us at Go soon, too. So maybe the machines will fix everything for us. Maybe they already have. At least as much as they want to.

Singularity or apocalypse, singularity or apocalypse, singularity or apocalypse?

just because you've forgotten doesn't mean you're forgiven,

greyarea

Diaryland