Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-05-04 18:36:02

concerning cruelty: whether it is better to be loved than to be feared, or the reverse

Well. I am back. I finished Ultima 9 last night- it had once again become my number one priority. But it's over now. Next time I get a few months free time, I think I'm going to go through and play all the Ultimas straight through. The first ones are really, really primitive by modern standards (I think Ultima 1 came out in the late 70s), but I still like them.

I was thinking about comparing and contrasting what I like and don't like about Ultima 9 versus Final Fantasy 8 in this entry, but I'm probably the only one interested, so... I'll spare my hypothetical readers that fate.

So, I'm in my new place, with a new internet connection, and I'm surprised by how much happier I am here. Part of it is probably that I actually like my roommates here. Last year really sucked. And so did the one before. But I'm feeling tentatively optimistic about this next one.

"I'd like to quit thinking of the present as some minor insignificant preamble to something else." Cause that's what I've been doing.

I'm taking two chemistry classes and three music classes right now- though they're all really dinky classes. Both my chemistry classes are taught by the same woman. She's one of those who is really nasty and mean and seems to think that that makes her a better teacher. She claims she can't intimidate chemistry majors as effectively as non-majors. I guess chemistry majors are more accustomed to professor scare tactics.

And at my new place- I can watch Comedy Central, the Sci-Fi channel, Cartoon Network, and MTV. Didn't really have cable at my old place. It's been many years since I've been able to watch Comedy Central on a regular basis... woohoo.

Why is it that the majority of female clarinet players are both annoying AND ugly? There are certainly exceptions, but most of the hot chicks seem to be flute players. And I'm a male clarinet player- what does that say about me? And why am I still playing? I've been playing clarinet for almost ten years now, and I'd like to keep it up the rest of my life. Clarinets just have a really cool sound, especially in the lower register. And they're certainly the most beautiful instrument. That black and silver combination is really neat-O. Traditional Albanian music employs a lot of clarinets, evidently. And of all the instruments around, a clarinet would make the most effective weapon- It's easily wieldable, with a blunt end and a sharp end. Don't mess with clarinet players, man.

My clarinet's name is Rusty, by the way. I don't remember when exactly I came up with that... Perhaps it's just an eternal unchanging fact. Its name always was and always will be Rusty- no one knows why that it is, but everyone knows that it IS. Though maybe I should rename it The Disemboweler. Or maybe The Disemboweler could be Rusty's title... "All citizens will genuflect when in the mighty presence of Rusty, THE DISEMBOWELER!"

I like cheese.

"Sometimes a scream is better than a thesis." -Emerson

i got a fresh opinion now,

grey

Diaryland