Previous Current Older Next Contact

2004-07-15 1:15 a.m.

across the sea

I'm listening to Pinkerton right now, for the first time in a long time. I'm in a Pinkerton mood right now.

i'm spread so thin
i don't know who i am

In slightly more than a week, I will be leaving the country for my next Japan experience. I'll be there at least a year. Mebbe two.

Here's a picture of the island where I'll be living. If you can get that link to work.

I'm a little apprehensive, I guess, but not nearly as much as I was last time.

In other news, I just got back from a trip to Modesto. Kelly and his wife recently celebrated the birth of their first child, so I went up to see the little tyke. Somehow I was always very touched to see the look on Kelly's face as he held his infant son in his arms.

I'm really looking forward to becoming a father myself someday.

We watched something like eight episodes of this show, Freaks and Geeks, while I was up there, too. I never watched it while it was on TV- you gotta admit that the name isn't very promising- but I now absolutely love this show. Somehow, after watching it, I just feel great about life.

And on the way back... I don't know if you've ever been on I-15 between Las Vegas and Los Angeles, but out in the middle of the California desert there's an exit called "Zzyzx Road." I've passed this exit at regular intervals pretty much my whole life, and I always wondered what was there. Taking a detour down such a remote and mysterious highway exit seems like the perfect beginning to a fantasy (or horror) story, and my imagination always ran amuck coming up with possibilities for what might be found there.

Well, this time around I decided I was going to find out what was there. And I did.

But I'm not going to tell you what I found.

Because it's my little secret.

[Though if you really want to know, you can find out on the internet (of course). You can also find that I'm hardly the first person to be curious about this enigmatic piece of geography...]

The more I listen to Yma Sumac, the more I like it.

I'm really digging the 69 Love Songs, too.

if i'm a dog then you're a bitch,

greyarea

Diaryland