Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-07-20 about midnight

greyarea expounds the scriptures, and then goes on to an insightful discourse on other topics OR greyarea rambles on incoherently as usual

Okay, check this out.

First-

Mark 9:40- "For he that is not against us is on our part."

Luke 9:50- "And Jesus said unto him, Forbid him not: for he that is not against us is for us."

Then-

Matthew 12:30- "He that is not with me is against me; and he that gathereth not with me scattereth abroad."

Luke 11:23- "He that is not with me is against me: and he that gathereth not with me scattereth."

So which is it? Are fence sitters for or against? My salvation may depend on this, you know!

Interesting fact I learned the other day- The United States Congress only had the authority to enact the Civil Rights Act through a pretty roundabout interpretation of the constitution. They had to use the clause that gives Congress the right to control "interstate commerce," through the argument that civil rights affects interstate commerce- nothing else in the constitution would give Congress the right to force legislation like that on the states. We generally think trampling over the constitution like that is a bad thing, but... If the Supreme Court says it's constitutional, it's constitutional, right?

"The Constitution is what the Supreme Court says it is." -Charles Evan Hughes

And suddenly my mind goes blank. It seemed like I had plenty of things to say the next time I got up on my little virtual soapbox, but maybe not.

Sometimes it seems the creativity and enthusiasm I once had withered up and died somewhere along the way.

the fascination of what's difficult
has dried the sap from my veins, and rent
spontaneous joy and natural content
out of my heart

But at least I know how to draw cyclohexane. That's gotta count for something.

A little over a year ago, I went and memorized The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock, by good ol' Eliot. Most of it is still in my brain somewhere, but it's been a while since I recited it to myself, so I'd probably have to peruse a copy again in order to restore it to my memory. It's an excellent poem, but it wasn't till I'd taken the time to read it about five times before it really started to have meaning for me. Though there aren't any structural reasons for it, that poem gets closer to how I feel when listening to a great song than any other poem. For the most part I consider poetry as generally inferior to music. I know a lot of people would take issue with that, but it's really just a measure of my emotional response to the one as opposed to the other. One of the reasons I like ee cummings and Guillaume Appolinaire is because their poetry often has a visual element which gives the poem a quality that is totally outside the realm of musical expression.

I think silence is a sound as much as black is a color. (So... am I saying that silence really is a sound, or that black really isn't a color?)

I heard Bruce Campbell auditioned to replace Duchovny on X Files. That would rule if he got the part. That dude isn't as famous as he should be, iff'n ya ask me.

Hey- that reminds me. I saw X-Men last weekend. I'd say it was not a disappointment. Of course, there was a pair of yokels sitting behind us making loud comments the whole time. And they weren't even clever comments- they were mostly limited to variations on "God damn that dude's a bad ass!" I imagine these two hill people must have been chasing one of their sheep or cows (or whatever the hell) that wandered away from the herd and down the mountain, when the little beastie wandered close enough to civilization that the Slack-Jawed Duo pursuing it came across a relatively recent newspaper. Though the Ones-Whose-Eyes-Stare-Sullenly can't read too well, they were able to discern that the X-Men movie was coming out soon. Having once found an X-Men comic book in a similar jaunt to the borders of civilization, our protagonists were well aware of the X-Men. And so Sergio (aka Cretin 1) must have proposed to Maximillian (aka With Cretin 1), "Goddamn, Alonzo, we's gonna hafta go see this bad-ass movin' picture." And I'm sure Alonzo must have quipped, "Uhh... Yup. Yup." And so the stage was set for Sergio and Maximillian's Day on the Town. The rest is history.

I think I'd like to be a mutant. I'm always looking for ways to set myself apart from the masses, and a freaky superpower that gives me an unfair and frightening advantage over the faces in the crowd would be just the thing. And being a social outcast wouldn't be too bad either. It's not exactly like I'm a member of the in-crowd now- and I think I'd rather be the oppressed than the oppressor, anyway.

"For everything to be consummated, for me to feel less alone, I had only to wish that there be a large crowd of spectators the day of my execution and that they greet me with cries of hate."

Well, I think I better stop before I break something, but remember- "Don't hypnotize members of your own family to summon disembodied spirits! It's just wrong! Don't do it!"

funny how i always wanna give in,

greyarea

Diaryland