Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-07-27 9:20 p.m.

my cat is dead

My cat died. Almost 14 years old. Had her since I was 10 or 11 years old. Her name was Tami.

She was shy and frightened around strangers- most visitors never knew we had a cat- but always ready and willing to try to kill me. I always appreciated that about her.

She talked to me. She always let me know that I was important to her, and I tried to do the same for her. We hadn't seen much of each other in the last several years, what with me in college and whatnot...

My mom is taking it really hard. What with getting her thyroid removed and all the complications connected with that, my mom has been fairly homebound the last year, and Tami was like her best friend during that time.

But Tami's dead now.

Mom's been pretty depressed all around. There've been tons of weird complications since the thyroidectomy, and she's just not able to live life like she used to. She sometimes says she wishes she hadn't found out she had thyroid cancer. Most of the time she gives no hint of how depressed she really is, but I know she's having a hard time. I'm not sure what I can best do to help her.

I loved my kitty.

And I love my mommy.

In other news, my cousin is gay, the laptop I spent way too much money on has arrived, my mother has decided her new obsession is epiphyllums (I'm quite fond of the things myself- the only plant I ever really successfully cared for was an epiphyllum, though I never got it to bloom), I'm in (totally platonic and decidedly not homosexual, not that I have a problem with those who swing that way) love with Leonard Cohen, and I'm about out of money but require more.

one eye filled with blueprints, one eye filled with night,

greyarea

Diaryland