Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-08-02 10:04 a.m.

the fragile haunted otaku

I love August.

I know you're all dying to know, so here's a list of anime in my possession (if it's not clear, sub= Japanese with English subtitles, dub= dubbed in English- DVDs typically have both sub and dub (and raw Japanese) versions on them):

subbed Sailor Moon- episodes 1-54, 73-200, all three movies, Ami's First Love and SuperS TV special
dubbed Sailor Moon- seasons 1-3
Tenchi Muyo and most of Tenchi Universe dub
Gundam Wing dub 1-49
Gundam Wing ep. 1-4 DVD
Gundam Wing Endless Waltz DVD
*Slayers 1-26 (1st season) DVD
Slayers 27-52 (2nd season) DVD
#Slayers 53-59 sub
Princess Mononoke DVD
Laputa: Castle in the Sky sub
Nausica� of the Valley of Wind sub
+Record of Lodoss War (ep. 1-13) DVD
Oh My Goddess ep. 3 dub
#Oh My Goddess Movie sub
Marmalade Boy 1-24 sub
Vampire Princess Miyu TV series 1-26 sub
*Neon Genesis Evangelion DVD operations 1-2 (eps 1-7)
Neon Genesis Evangelion DVD operation 3 (eps 8-10)
Violinist of Hamelin 1-4 sub
#Serial Experiments Lain 1-13 sub
*Serial Experiments Lain 5-7 DVD
*#Ghost in the Shell sub

* owned by my brother, currently under my care while he is in Taiwan for two years
+ shared ownership by my brother and I
# computer file (.avi, .mpg, .asf)

Things I plan to acquire in the near future: Vampire Princess Miyu OAV DVD, Oh! My Goddess DVD

Things I plan to acquire sometime: the other Neon Genesis Evangelion DVDs, Slayers Try DVDs, Fushigi Yuugi DVDs, subs of other Miyazaki films, Sailor Moon ep. 55-72 sub, the rest of Violinist of Hameln, the rest of Marmalade Boy (maybe), maybe some Ranma 1/2... and who knows what else.

An apology can raise someone from my lukewarm list to my A list, in a snap. Even if it was a minor incident, I appreciate it. Everybody does things they maybe shouldn't have, but apologizing shows you actually care about the effects of your actions, and I value that trait in people. I probably need to try to nurture that trait in myself a little more...

If I can actually get around to studying for it, I think I could do well on the MCAT. I could probably do a fair job even without studying, but what's the point of taking it if I'm not going to kick its ass?

nihongo ga wakarinikui ne...

I've been listening to The Fragile by Nine Inch Nails a lot recently. That album is really relevant to my life, man. Some of the reviews I've read of it say that it's basically just more of the same Downward Spiral stuff, but I disagree completely. I guess the sound is similar, but the subject matter and mood is completely different. Both have a good amount of gee-i'm-really-depressed-and/or-frustrated songs, but there's a disturbing viciousness in the Downward Spiral that isn't there anymore in The Fragile. Some of the songs on The Fragile are downright... affectionate. Really, I think the title track, "The Fragile," and "We're In This Together" are some of the best love songs ever written.

you and me
we're in this together now
none of them can stop us now
we will make it through somehow
you and me
even after everything
you're the queen and i'm the king
nothing else means anything

I wish I felt that way about someone...

it didn't turn out the way you wanted it to
it didn't turn out the way you wanted it, did it?

I've also been listening to Haunted by Poe over and over again the last few days. Poe is from the exact same town I've lived in the last four minus one years. She understands me. The title track of that album is one of those songs where I listen to it and think, "I couldn't have put it better myself."

i still want to ruin it,

greyarea

P.S. Junko asked me to name her new car. Does that mean something?

Diaryland