Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-08-03 12:21 a.m.

wise words from a man who knows how to ski

Well, somehow I've ended up back in Idaho, if only for a few days. I thought we were past this!

I watched Chicken Run and Princess Diaries last night- how's that for a family double feature?

Chicken Run- Cute. Funny. Liked the accents. 3 stars.

Princess Diaries- Formulaic as hell, but genuinely clever on a regular basis. I'd probably buy it if I had a daughter. 3 stars.

I've seen Pirates of the Caribbean twice so far, and would be giddy to watch it again anytime. I was looking forward to seeing it all summer, and as it turned out it was everything I hoped it would be. Johnny Depp especially was great. 4 stars.

Sashimi on sushi should be a bit crunchy, not soft. Steamed gyoza should not be a soggy glop. For future reference.

Apparently they're making an American version of Shall We Dance with Richard Gere and Jennifer Lopez. Add that to the list of Horrible Ideas That Will Nonetheless Make Obscene Amounts of Money.

I know a guy whose job is to watch Japanese movies and write summaries of them for big motion picture studios, so that they can decide which one to violate and exploit next. Pays pretty well, apparently.

i know of a store
where pain is for free
and if i ask for more
i don't pay my money
and it's terrible pain
and it's all for free
and if i ask for more
they're gonna give it to me!

I'm trying to come up with a funny story to tell or a soapbox to stand on, but I'm drawing blanks, kids. I'm not feeling clever, angry, or depressed. I'm not feeling ironic, sardonic, Platonic, or adonic right now.

I'll just leave you with these words of encouragement:

�Even if it seems certain that you will lose, retaliate. Neither wisdom nor technique has a place in this. A real man does not think of victory or defeat. He plunges recklessly towards an irrational death. By doing this, you will awaken from your dreams.�

things are getting worse but i feel a lot better,

greyarea

Diaryland