Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-09-13 sometime during the day

more neologisms

First off, I must recommend Will's latest entry. Since he's started updating again recently, I decided to put him on my favorites list. That liver thing is quite a piece of work.

In other news, I've seen the South Park movie twice in the last 48 hours, and I now have to restrain myself from speaking in profanity. I also saw Run Lola Run recently, and I would recommend it to everyone.

I've heard good things about Nurse Betty, but I haven't yet seen it.

The other night I dreamt I was a character in the Iliad. That sucked, let me tell you. The Iliad sucks, really. I think I'd hate it even more if I was female. The thing is an ode to the most annoying qualities typically attributed to males. Females are only mentioned in passing, and even then are just prizes to be won or protected in the course of the war- like a really spiffy golden calf or something. And yet the whole damn war was was fought for one woman. Can you say "Not worth it?" And everyone in Troy seems to hate Paris- why didn't they just say, "Screw you, buddy, we're giving the chick back whether you like it or not"?

The Greeks, man. Damn.

One of my roommates has gotten really good at Tony Hawk's Pro Skater, and now he's bought himself a real skateboard.

well i have passed the test
just like all the rest
but never really understood the reasons why i took it
in the first place

Sympathetic is a word I like.

I only have one good friend in my major. And I haven't even seen him for about a year. I have a couple friends who are physics majors. But other than that, all my friends are humanities types. I just don't like most of my fellow geeks that much. Most of my friends have an irrational fear of science, which is unfortunate. Scientists aren't going to listen to you when you voice concerns about what they're doing unless you know what the hell you're talking about. This is a common problem with people fighting against this or that, be it cloning or nuclear power- they're totally misinformed.

People often ask me, "Why are you looking at me like that?" as if my current gaze is some special concoction of oddity especially designed just for the person in question. Well, I look at everyone like that, okay? OKAY?

glad that's settled.

you've got a grand piano. and you don't even play piano. i'm the one who plays piano. you don't even play piano, but you part the waters.

I wouldn't want to be crucified.

Thoreau said he never met anyone who was quite awake. Buddha was Buddha because he was awake. I don't think I've ever met anyone who was awake- someone who sees things as they really are. Everyone's pretty much just watching a Platonic puppet show (good hell, I feel so smart when I say "Platonic puppet show"). I have moments sometimes- after a conversation with Mysteria I've come to call them my "moments of disturbing clarity"- where I am suddenly awed by my ability to wiggle my finger back and forth or stunned by the reality of my existence as an individual or the existence of anything at all. I think the goal of Zen Buddhism is to take such moments and extend them until you live in such a state of awareness. I remember reading about someone who asked an American student of Zen Buddhism in Tokyo what Zen was all about, and he responded, "It's hard to say, but sometimes you wake up in the morning and the world is so beautiful you can hardly stand it."

i've got my (root) beer, i've got my stories to tell- but they won't tell you what it's like in hell

He didn't know what to do with the oil spattered across the kitchen floor. But he did what he could- he took out his tongue and went to work.

You know, I enjoy drinking Italian dressing.

what would brian boitano do?

-grey

Diaryland