Previous Current Older Next Contact

2004-09-29 10:56 p.m.

lessee... one inch is 2.54 centimeters, so...

Today we had another typhoon. Of course I had to walk to school in the middle of it at 8am. I did okay, but my umbrella couldn't handle the pressure and inverted halfway there. I showed up to school totally soaked.

Also today, an eight year old asked me how long my penis is.

I bought a guitar on Monday, too. It was a new one. It ended up being a Fender acoustic guitar. It ran me about three hundred bucks. A good guitar for that price, but it's just not as good as my old one. I'm regretting not having bit the bullet and paid to bring it over here. I had planned to just get a cheap piece of crap to play, but then I realized that I'm just not willing to play a piece of crap anymore, 'specially not for two years.

And I played seven or eight different guitars, going back and forth between the last three for quite a while, before making my decision, and the guy didn't complain at all. So I bought his guitar. Take that, Nagasaki Pawn Shop Guy!

I was teaching animals to the kids today. I played (and sang) Eels "I Like Birds" for them on guitar. They don't understand the verses at all, of course, but when it came to the part where it goes, "I like... birds," instead of "birds" I had the kids shout out the name of their favorite animal in English. It was a hoot and a holler.

Oh, a few days ago I dreamt that Little Wing's marriage had ended and we got engaged. I kissed her for the first time. And THEN I realized that I had forgotten that (in the dream) I had already asked Junko to marry me earlier in the week. I was freaking out trying to figure out what to do. How's that for an anxiety dream?

OH YEAH. [The editor would like to issue a Rant Warning at this time.] That subsitute I work with at the middle school? She's pretty well relegated me to the position of tape recorder (not that they do anything more interesting in class), as mentioned earlier. But you see, even in this she undermines me. I'm trying to get these kids to differentiate between l's and r's, to make an effort to properly pronounce v's and th's, and to stop adding in extra vowels everywhere, but I can't be too optimistic about the chances of that happening when their teacher is very obviously making no effort to do so herself. She pretty much never talks to me unless I initiate the conversation, and even then it can be a battle to get her to speak English. I guess she's just too busy with her duties as an English teacher to be bothered with something as trivial as being competent in English. [sigh] I wonder if she secretly bitches about me like I do about her? That would be funny. Anyway, this was partially inspired by the fact that yesterday I found out that the normal teacher is extending her maternity leave and I will be working with the sub until MARCH. So we're going to have to figure out how to work together, I guess. [The rant is passed. The Rant Threat Level will now return to Yellow ("Elevated").]

standing on a ledge,

greyarea

Diaryland