Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-10-28 2:49 p.m.

zuihitsu

I missed last week, didn't I? Hum. I wasn't feeling too well last Sunday. It was a Bad Day. I started writing an entry, but I just couldn't write anything.

I think I mentioned that I'll be applying for a three to six month internship in Japan, hopefully with Taisho Seiyaku, Japan's largest pharmaceutical company. I'll have an interview on Wednesday, all dressed up, with two Japanese professors (like, Japanese Japanese professors). If they ask me a question in English, I answer in English. If they ask a question in Japanese, I answer in Japanese. I'm supposed to be as formal in my language as possible. The whole thing will be taped and shown to prospective sponsor companies in Japan. kowai.

I saw Who Is Corky Romano last night. It was funny. I don't have that much to say about it just now.

I got a haircut a few weeks ago. In fact, I got lots of my hairs cut! Ha!

we are the dollars and cents

Did I tell you Junko got me some Sailor Moon shampoo while she was in Japan? How's that for cool?

Not only did I have a dream about "victorious young triads" a few weeks ago, but then I had a dream where I was writing a symphony, and I had to keep reminding myself that it was supposed to be in C. Weird that that little song would find itself in my dreams like that...

I've been getting tons of mail from chemistry graduate schools around the country. I think the department here has been giving my name out... One thing a lot of people don't realize is that most people going to graduate school in chemistry and biochemistry (and many other of the "hard" sciences, as well) are paid to go to school... Chemistry graduate students are an asset to the school... I'm thinking more and more that I'm not interested in being a doctor quite enough to put up with all the crap you have to go through to get there, and I'm not sure I want such a stressful job in any case...

I did get my MCAT scores back, by the way. I did pretty good. Good enough that I'm not going to bother to take it again... I'm having to come to grips with the fact that I'm only "pretty smart," not a "fucking genius." So to speak. Weird how I'm never satisfied with anything less than stellar, isn't it? And yet, really, I did pretty damn good on it.

well of course i'd like to sit around and chat

Oh. I took a personality disorder test that I found from reading mimi's diary. The only one I scored high in was schizoid. Apparently, "People with schizoid personality disorder avoid relationships and do not show much emotion. They genuinely prefer to be alone and do not secretly wish for popularity. They tend to seek jobs that require little social contact. Their social skills are often weak and they do not show a need for attention or acceptance. They are perceived as humorless and distant and often are termed 'loners.'" And I think, "This is bad... why?"

"I before E except after C. Words that don't follow this rule are weird." I thought of that second part myself!

Am I cute, or what?

My sister claims I like Junko because she has a "cute" personality.

I should write more haikus, don't you think?

Don't you love these stream of consciousness entries?

zuihitsu

I bought the director's cut DVD of Army of Darkness. I bought other crap, too. I don't really need more than one meal a day, right? At amazon I put in my shopping cart all CDs I want to buy in the near future (plus another Sandman collection). It came to about $150. Maybe I should start selling plasma.

i want i want i want i want i want i want i want!

("you're so pretty. you're not pretty, you're beautiful.")

My sister was in town this weekend. People think she's my older sister. She's five years younger than me, though. My brother, my sister, and I are all about the same height (within two inches) and are all about the same weight (within ten pounds), and we all look about the same age. My sister's cool. For the most part, I'm very pleased with how she came out. She's independent, with good taste, an understanding of and appreciation of irony; she can be cynical and sacrastic without really being mean, she knows how to dress, she likes video games, and she's actually very considerate of other people's feelings. She's sharp. Men want her, women want to be her. She's a heartbreaker.

I like jeans a lot. I think they're the coolest clothing invention ever. Which reminds me, check this out. Did you know that Bill Gates and Walt Disney are more recognizable that Jesus?

Echo. Do you like that word? I think I do.

You know, I appreciate very much the way Japanese and French sound as a whole- just the beauty of the languages in general- but I couldn't possibly choose favorite words from them. Whereas I have no concept of what English "sounds like-" but there are many individual words in English that I am very fond of (for examples, see here). French can sound beautiful, seductive, elegant, arrogant, effeminate, or sarcastic. Japanese can sound threatening, pensive, elegant, cute, intense, or annoying. But describing what English sounds like is like trying to describe the taste of water.

Here's some other English words I like:

synergy

sympathetic

byways

insipid

serpentine

saturnine

apocalypse

kiosk

sapphire

elegant

chrysalis

ether

ethereal

Alright, I think I've gone on long enough.

Sometimes these days, I feel happy.

my heart's full and bloody,

grey

Diaryland