Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-11-04 1:35 p.m.

i wrote little haiku poems and emailed them to everyone...

Well. No one emailed me to tell me what they did for Halloween. Well you know what? I DIDN'T WANT TO KNOW ANYWAY!!! ; P

When I read these articles about all the different ways America might be vulnerable to attack by terrorists, I just have to think, "Damn, man- don't give them ideas!"

Friday in physical chemistry was a test review. I spent the time writing haikus. In Japanese. I'll write them out for you, and even give you a translation.

haiku mite
kakinikusugiru
ware dekinu

look at haikus
they are too hard to write
i can't do it [this last line is written in archaic Japanese]

omoidasu
kokoro no samusa
atsuku naru

(I) will remember
(My) heart's coldness
will become hot
[Subjects aren't necessary in Japanese, and so I didn't include them here. I put "I" and "my" in parentheses in the translation, but it could just as well be "he" and "him" or "she" and "her" or "we" and "our."]

Thinking of the Fight Club haiku, I wrote this one:

tatakatte
nani mo tokanai
kamawanai

fight
it won't solve anything
it doesn't matter

Then I thought maybe I should write a haiku concerning my immediate environment-

midori kabe
kagaku satori ga
haitte miru

green wall
chemical enlightenment
will try to enter

Then I thought I'd do a cute word play:

ongaku ya
bungaku no nichi wa
ongaku da

music and
literature days
are the study of gratitude
[You'd have to be able to read it in Japanese with the kanji to really understand what I was trying to get at here. So- ongaku in the first line is "music." The gaku in bungaku (literature) and the 3rd line ongaku means "study" or "-ology." The "on" of the third line "ongaku" is a Japanese word meaning "gratitude." So, "ongaku" in the first line is music, and "ongaku" in the third line is a made up word meaning "the study of gratitude."]

Well, I hope that wasn't too horribly boring.

I bought some Bj�rk DVD singles yesterday. I'm very fond of the music on them, but these videos were probably the most disturbing Bj�rk videos I've seen... Anyway, here's the titles I've decided on for them:

All is Full of Love- Bj�rk Robots in Love

Hidden Place- Bj�rk Extreme Close-up

I think I'll do something else now.

y'all don't know what it's like being male middle class and white,

greyarea

Diaryland