Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-11-14 9:55 p.m.

Howie, Cricket Patriarch

I haven't done two entries in one day in this thing for years, but there's something I wanted to tell you about.

Turns out, Howie and crew ARE crickets! I heard one of them chirping a few hours ago! I SAW him or her chirping! [Editor's note- only male crickets chirp.]

I'm so sorry I called you a cockroach, Howie! I'd never actually SEEN a cricket before, and I was confused to see them crawling all over my house! I'll never doubt you again!

(Aside: I don't think I've ever used so many exclamation points in my whole life. Don't expect it to happen ever again, either.)

Upon delivery of irrefutable evidence of the nature of our new tenants, I mentioned to mother that in many Asian countries, crickets are kept as pets. She then reported on a conversation she had had with my father.

mom: Greyarea seems to be growing pretty attached to these bugs. He's been giving them names and assigning them personalities.

dad: You know what his problem is?

mom: Yeah, he's really bored.

dad: Exactly.

Incidentally, this revelation came about while I was watching Bend It Like Beckham, with my dear mother. I thought it was a fun glimpse into some interesting cultures (English, Indian, and women's soccer). 3 stars

you think that i don't understand, but i do,

greyarea

Diaryland