Previous Current Older Next Contact

2003-12-02 10:43 p.m.

childish

Today I was the closest to peeing my pants that I have been since... uhh... the last time I peed my pants.

I'm a little nervous that The Last Samurai is going to make my little novel seem a touch... unoriginal. Just to make it clear in the event there is any thematic overlap, I was NOT INFLUENCED BY LAST friggin SAMURAI. But this may be moot. I'll have to see the film.

By the way, once I get the thing as good as I can get it on my own, I'm gonna want input. So if you want to be one of my peer reviewers, let me know. I want you to do it. Really. Puweeeeze.

Today I went to a dinner with grownups and spent the whole time talking with a seven year old.

I seem to get on well with children. I like the way they think, not yet forced into social norms. They don't have fixed ideas of what's socially normal behavior and what's not, and thus when I just say whatever off the wall thing I'm thinking, it's just a normal conversation to them. Grownups just look at me weird.

So I usually keep my mouth shut.

Thus my reputation for being a sullen boy.

Also, I remember once as a child making a promise to myself that I would never forget what it was like to be a kid, as so many adults do. I'd like to think that I succeeded.

There are certain aspects of the child's personality that I've tried very hard to maintain. Kids get so excited about stuff, like, say, seeing a cow, or something. And you know, the world around us is pretty amazing and cool. Just because you've seen it a few times already doesn't make it any less astounding. I really try hard to preserve my sense of wonder.

But I can be coldly analytical, as well, often at the same time as I'm acting all weird or whatever.

I get the feeling that this entry sucks. I'm just, like, writing stuff, and stuff.

psht. Let's put it out of its misery, already.

it takes courage to enjoy it,

greyarea

Diaryland