Previous Current Older Next Contact

2004-12-30 8:13 p.m.

in love (with william shatner) OR communist daughter

I asked Kami what she likes about me.

you said, "you're not like the rest!"
and i nodded
"no one understands me!" you said
and i nodded once again
as if to agree that all men are indeed the same
somehow, you said,
i was different.

(we ARE all alike
at puberty i was sworn to secrecy
by the international brotherhood of lying, fickle males
i can't tell you anything
and i can't commit)

Yeah, anyway. It looks like she and I will be spending a lot of time together for the forseeable future. I'm still hesitant to use the word "girlfriend," but... if it looks like a duck-billed platypus, smells like a duck-billed platypus, tastes like a duck-billed platypus, lays eggs like a duck-billed platypus, gives milk to its young like a duck-billed platypus, and has poisonous claws like a duck-billed platypus, well... maybe it's a goddamn duck-billed platypus.

I considered not mentioning this in a relatively public forum like this, because she doesn't necessarily like people, 'specially Americans, to know, but I thought, "Ah, what the hell?" Just don't tell my grandmother, kay?

Kami came out to me today. Turns out she's a card carrying member of the Japanese Communist Party.

Huh.

This is the first quote that came to mind: "I think all the great religions of the world- Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity, Islam, and Communism- both untrue and harmful." -Bertrand Russell (You know how I love Bertie.)

She claims that Soviet and old-style Chinese communists "didn't do it right" and that her group would never use violence or force. She says they don't believe that everyone should be economically equal. Actually, she told me a lot of things she doesn't believe, but not much that she does. She's gonna write me an email about it, I think.

I dunno. I just can't think of a communist system that was in any way viable without using brutal oppression to keep the populace in line. In fact, I can't even think of a communist regime that came to power peacefully, without slaughtering any and everyone who dared voice dissent. At this point I think most of the world thinks of communism as a failed experiment, at best.

But she is right that the current way of doing things has us headed for disaster and we really can't continue like this. I'll be curious to learn more about how she thinks about these things.

She's also politely requested that I stop referring to her as "the red pinko commie bastard" while shaking my fist menacingly. I guess that's reasonable.

(Geez, you'd think she woulda liked Fight Club more...)

If I sound a little less than giddy about my new apparent relationship, well... Despite all I like about her, she's said and done some things that annoy the hell out of me recently. We'll see how it goes.

you say a lot of funny things, my little bunny
and i almost always laugh
but that's not really funny

i will always treasure our time together,

greyarea

Diaryland