Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-07-17 11:35 p.m.

californication and EVERYTHING IS CHANGING

I'm not sure I feel like writing about my Las Vegas trip just now. Maybe next time. (I'm sure everyone's just dying to know how it was... shyeah.) I wanted to get in an entry before I left, but I never got around to it. Now... what was I going to talk about?

This girl I'm quasi-interested in- I called her Ryuu in the last entry. I'm going to talk about the main thing that bugs me about her. She's from Southern California. Which isn't bad in and of itself, but she's one of those people who thinks Southern California is the greatest place in the world and that everyone else in the country (if not the entire world) secretly wishes they lived there. She can't grasp the concept that some people DON'T LIKE California, especially Californians and their damn attitude. California's not the West. It's not even the Southwest. They're not westerners like Westerners are Westerners. They're something else. They're their own little world, full of yuppies and assholes and people who'd stab you in the face with a used heroin syringe as soon as look at you. Certainly, there are great people there, too, but don't try to tell me that California is paradise. I expect it to sink into the sea any day now.

it's the edge of the world
and all of western civilization
the sun may rise in the East
at least it settles in the final location
it's understood that Hollywood
sells Californication

pay your surgeon very well
to break the spell of aging
celebrity skin is that your chin
or is that war your waging

born and raised by those who praise
control of population
everybody's been there and i don't mean on vacation

Anthony Kiedis knows what I'm talkin about!

I'm thinking of starting an anime club here at the university... But it would mean wading through a ton of red tape for as long as I remain here, and I'm not sure I want it that bad... But it would be nice to put something new into the world...

In other news... The qu�b�cois and my old buddy are now an item, she is now MARRIED, and to top it all off, my family is moving to Las Vegas (or, as I like to call it, The Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy.) (A little aside- when I told Ryuu my family was moving to Las Vegas, she said, "Well, they might as well just move to California. It's a lot better." dammit, girl!) I turn my back for a little bit- okay, I turn my back for six months- and everything changes! Wacky. I thought everything would remain static forever. Change always seem to catch me unready. That's probably a character flaw. But maybe it's just that I'M in such a stasis right now, that I expect everything else to be, too.

(I think if I were ever to do an actual template for this diary, I'd want to include that gravestone from the inside cover of Electro-shock Blues that says EVERYTHING IS CHANGING. cuz it is.)

Anyway, the Mysteria/cf thing kind of shocked me into the realization that she and I have drifted very far apart. And I don't know what to do about it. It just doesn't seem as easy to talk to her as it once was... We've known each other a long time, you know. She was always there to give objective input on whatever was happening in my life... And she's not so much anymore... And I don't know what to do about it. It just... happened. I miss you, dear.

Okay. I've droned on long enough.

voices tell me i'm the shit,

grey

Diaryland