Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-04-02 2:42 p.m.

thanks for the ether

It's Skip's birthday today. He's 23. He must've slept 13 or 14 hours last night. I think he sleeps more than I do (which is a lot)- not what I'd expect from an Air Force ROTC "fitness fanatic" with dreams of becoming a test pilot.

I've decided Rasputina is cool. Kind of generic goth lyrics but... they all play cellos! Isn't that neato?

I don't think anything interesting has happened to me since I last wrote...

I want to learn capoeira. But time and funds may not be up to the task just now.

I prefer doors to be closed. I find gum chewing extremely annoying. I like rain. I hate slush.

You know, I like Ani DiFranco and all, but her stuff does have a "by women for women" feel to it, you know? I feel almost... guilty listening to it. I get the same feeling when I listen to what rap I like (mostly Fugees (Lauryn Hill and Wyclef Jean))... Actually I get that feeling even more so with rap. Because, while I can appreciate (some) rap musically, a lot of the subject matter is just outside my realm of experience. It's good for a look into what it's like to be black in America today I guess but... I'm wary of white guys whose favorite kind of music is rap.

Did that make any sense?

I'm finally learning relativity in my physics class. I'm finally understanding just what the theory is and what it's implications are. The universe doesn't work like our daily experience leads us to think it does. Like... you can travel a distance of 8 light years in 6 years (by your perception of time as the traveller) if you're travelling at 80% of the speed of light. That doesn't seem logical because supposedly you should only be able to travel 80% of a lightyear per year if you're travelling at 80% of the speed of light, right? But see, when you're going that fast, the distance actually becomes shorter. I could try to explain it more, but my head would probably explode. This is "gee whiz" physics here, people.

it's hard to be a man when there's a gun in your hand,

greyarea

Diaryland