Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-06-11 23:45:05

prose

"And I turned myself to behold wisdom, and madness, and folly: for what can man do that cometh after the king? Even that which hath already been done. Then I saw that wisdom excelleth folly, as far as light exceedeth darkness. The wise man's eyes are in his head; but the fool walketh in darkness: and I myself perceived also that one event happeneth to them all. Then I said in my heart, As it happeneth to the fool, so it happeneth even to me; and why was I then more wise? Then I said in my heart, that this also is vanity. For there is no remembrance of the wise more than of the fool for ever; seeing that which now is in days to come shall all be forgotten. And how dieth the wise man? As the fool."

Take this kiss upon thy brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

"There is no remembrance of former things; neither shall there be any remembrance of things that are to come with those that shall come after."

like tears in rain,

greyarea

Diaryland