Previous Current Older Next Contact

2001-07-25 8:22 p.m.

uhh... nothing to say. apparently. OR sapphire bullets of pure love

Last weekend there was a big forest fire in the mountains. It was a very cool sight to see at night. They looked like a giant smoldering campire (which is what they were, in a way...). Smelled like it, too. I tried to take some pictures, but I'm not real optimistic about them coming out...

now it's over i'm dead and i haven't
done anything i want
or, i'm still alive
and there's nothing i want to do

everybody wants a rock to wind a piece of string around

Am I so starved for material that all I can do is quote They Might Be Giants lyrics? I swear earlier today I had tons of cleverness I planned to spew here...

everybody wants prosthetic foreheads on their real heads

Today's Junko's birthday. She's 25 or something, I don't know.

I identify with Rei in Evangelion and with Yuu in Marmalade Boy.

I had five wisdom teeth removed, you know.

i'll never see myself in the mirror with my eyes closed

I think being a lighthouse keeper would be kick-ass.

Ever notice how when you hear someone making a loud, annoying disturbance, you ask yourself if the person in question is retarded or just an asshole? Ever notice how sometimes there's not that big of a difference?

I've been thinking about The Left Hand of Darkness, by Ursula K. LeGuin, lately, and I think their system is way better than ours. They don't have gender. And 90% of the time they don't even want sex. How it works is for about three days every month you basically go into heat (they call it "kemmer"). You get those days off from work (because you're really not good for much but having sex during this time of the month) and sent off to have a good time. How it works is when a couple in kemmer wants to have sex, one of them starts differentiating into either the male or female partner, and then the other becomes the other sex. You could be a different "gender" for your kemmering every month... Now, wouldn't that be better? Not having to deal with your stupid libido for most of the month, and then when you DO have to deal with it, you're free to let it have it's way? Plus, no gender! Seriously, gender sucks. See, this way, we wouldn't be divided at birth into weaker and stronger, protector and protected, agressor and victim, hard and soft, hunter and gatherer, provider and nurturer, stoic and sensitive... Everyone would just be a PERSON, and we could just become what it actually felt right to become... I think we should switch to this system ASAP. Who's with me?

i'm having a wonderful time but i'd rather be whistling in the dark

Is there a havarti lover's web ring? If there was, I'd join. Maybe I'll have to start one. Even if I'm the only person on it. Because... I love havarti. It's 5 or 6 bucks a pound at Albertson's but... sometimes I just can't resist. precious havarti...

the nicest of the damned,

greyarea

Diaryland