Previous Current Older Next Contact

2000-09-18 03:19:48

ramayana and ecclesiastes

That Moby song "Porcelain" is really great. I downloaded it off Napster a few days ago, and I just listen to it over and over. I rarely do that with songs. I don't think I've ever heard a song that is so... ME. It's not so much the lyrics (though I like them very much) as it the sound and mood. The ambiance of that song is right in line with my general feeling and outlook on life. I went out and bought the album the other day. The jury is still out on the album as a whole.

I went to an Indian festival at a local Hare Krishna temple Saturday night. I wouldn't expect there to be a Hare Krishna temple in this area, but there is. Pretty wild. I like the way so many different cultures in the modern world have transplanted themselves into so many different places, often so very different from their places of origin. The festival was really great, and it renewed my commitment to be a vegetarian. At the end of the night they burned the demon Ravana in effigy, and that was really cool. I've never seen anything like that before.

I took three girls with me to the festival. Originally two of my roommates were going to come, too, but they bailed on me to go see a sneak preview of Almost Famous. (Actually, the girls inadvertently ditched me for much of the night, as well... But I am so very used to that, I didn't really care. Hell, maybe it was me who ditched them- I don't know.) One of the three, a girl I met for the first time that night, kept untying my shoelaces, often tying them together or to other things. Does that mean she likes me? I got the feeling it was one of those psychological things where what she really wanted to was take my clothes off, but since that wasn't socially acceptable at the time she just kept untying my shoelaces instead. But maybe I'm just a narcissistic dick. She suggested we all going clubbing next Friday...

I the Preacher was king over Israel in Jerusalem. And I gave my heart to seek and search out by wisdom concerning all things that are done under heaven: this sore travail hath God given to the sons of man to be exercised therewith. I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit. That which is crooked cannot be made straight: and that which is wanting cannot be numbered. I communed with mine own heart, saying, Lo, I am come to great estate, and have gotten more wisdom than all they that have been before me in Jerusalem: yea, my heart had great experience of wisdom and knowledge. And I gave my heart to know wisdom, and to know madness and folly: I perceived that this also is vexation of spirit. For in much wisdom is much grief, and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow."

I think I might like to name a son Solomon.

In choosing between being ignorant and blissful and being knowledgeable and miserable because of what I knew, I would choose misery. Ignoring problems because it makes you unhappy to think about them is selfish and makes you easy to control. Such people are dangerous to what is truly good and right.

"It is morally as wrong not to care whether a thing is true or not, so long as it makes you feel good, as it is to not care where you get your money, so long as you have got it."

in my dreams i'm dying all the time,

grey

Diaryland